top of page

That 4/20 High

3…2…1…GO!


The crowd at the WE 4/20 5K surged across the starting line, my friends and I included. The energy and excitement was tangible. My friends, who are competitive runners, quickly pulled ahead of me, so I was left with my music and my own thoughts to keep me company.


Some thoughts circling my mind were unsurprising:

My chest is burning!”

“Why did I sign up for this, again?”

“Why is everyone running so fast?”


But some thoughts surprised me:

“The sun feels really good”,

“This song is awesome!”

“What does my body need right now?”

“It’s kind of fun to run with people”,

“What can I do to make myself proud?”


And one thought that wasn’t present at all:

“I’m stressed and far too busy for this.”

I was completely in the moment.


Many folks feel very in-the-moment during exercise, and researcher Isabel Benkhe knows why. Behnke discovered that bonobos, a kind of primate, became depressed in captivity but never in the wild. This discovery transfers to humans, as well. When we are removed from nature and do not move our bodies, depressive symptoms can increase. Moving our bodies, however, moves us out of our heads and into the present moment.


During the race, everyone may have felt sore and out of breath, but we were completely in the moment. And once we crossed the finish line, while trying to catch our breath, we couldn't help but smile.


(From left to right: Samantha Paquette, Adriyel Gogerly-Moragoda, Isaac Shoulderblade)

After the race, my friends and I were chatting, and I asked them how they feel after they run. One of my friends replied, “You feel good. You definitely get that runner’s high. In the long term, I think it makes me feel good about myself”.


There is a biological explanation for this. When we exercise, a cascade of helpful hormones floods our system, including endocannabinoids. Endocannabinoids are, essentially, the body’s naturally produced cannabis. The endocannabinoid system (ECS) functions to maintain normal body functions, including sleep, stress, muscle formation, metabolism, mood, chronic pain, and memory. So when you’re exercising and you’re experiencing discomfort or pain, the ECS kicks in. This is part of why exercise reduces stress, regulates our mood, and improves metabolism and sleep - the ECS is more active.


This research begs the question--why don’t we exercise if we know it can boost our happiness? For most of us, the answer is that we don’t have time. Personally, I may not have made time to run the 5K if I hadn’t signed up for it with my friends. Why is that?


There are two answers. First, U.S. culture encourages a mentality of productivity, which creates a workplace environment in which you are constantly being asked to produce more, work more, create more. Second, when we allow ourselves to focus solely on the urgent tasks of life, our important priorities - ones with no deadlines - end up on the back burner of our lives.


Did my to-do list shrink when I crossed the finish line of the 5K? No. But at the finish line, I was met with a sense of relief, of accomplishment, and of joy. My to-do list may not have changed, but I felt more ready to take it on. Life didn’t feel as big anymore. As Behnke said, I wasn’t caught up in my own head. My friend said it best when, after the race, he said he was just “happy. Content”.


(From left to right: Samantha Paquette, Adriyel Gogerly-Moragoda, Isaac Shoulderblade)

So get your ECS working today. And it doesn't need to be intense. Recent research has found that more moderate exercise actually leaves you feeling better than intense exercise (Whiteman, 2016). So whether it's a full-day hike or a five-minute movement break, choose to get out of your head, move your body, and connect with the present moment.


As always, we are you, we feel you, and we're here for you


~UVM Thrive Guide


References

Dellwo, A. (2020, February 10). What is the endocannabinoid system?. VeryWell Health.

Hari, J. (2018). Lost connections: Why you’re depressed and how to find hope. Bloomsbury

Publishing.

Linden, D. J. (2022). The truth behind ‘runner’s high’ and other mental benefits of running.

Whiteman, H. (2016, August 26). Endorphin release differs by exercise intensity, study finds.





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page