top of page

How Creating Art Can Help You During Quarantine

If you’re like me, you haven’t dedicated more than fifteen minutes on some type of arts and crafts project since it was a requirement in high school. Although I do consider myself to be a creative person, given my area of study and my schedule during college, I don’t often find myself using my hands to physically create something. As I find myself with more free time on my hands while stuck inside, I’ve begun to draw more. It has reminded me just how therapeutic it feels to make art. It’s no wonder why it’s actually used as a type of therapy. Have you ever heard of art therapy? Maybe you’ve participated in it with your friends or by yourself without even intending to.


Art therapy is a therapeutic technique rooted in the idea that creative expression can foster healing and mental well-being. Techniques used in art therapy include, but are not limited to, drawing, painting, coloring, sculpting, and collaging. Through exploring their art, people can look for themes and conflicts that may be affecting their thoughts, emotions, and behaviors. Art therapy helps people analyze their emotions, develop self-awareness, boost self-esteem, and cope with stress. The goal of art therapy is to utilize the creative process of creating art to help people explore self-expression and, in doing so, find new ways to gain personal insight and develop new coping skills.


During a time like this, it’s no wonder why more and more people are choosing to pass the time making art. Stress levels are at an all-time high for many people due to the current pandemic and the uncertainty it poses. This stress, coupled with the effects of social isolation, can take a huge toll on one’s mental health. Creating art is an effective and healthy coping mechanism to use while in quarantine. Art therapy doesn’t even require any artistic ability; people of all ages can benefit from it. Creating art doesn’t have to be expensive or elaborate either. Why not start with a pen and paper? Why not use materials from around your house to create a collage? Do you have paint, but no paintbrushes? Use your hands! Carving a little time out of every day to practice art therapy can make a significant difference in your mental health and might just make life and quarantine a little more enjoyable.


-Meg


23 views0 comments
bottom of page